AMW Rule Additions

Readers of the blog will know that I have tweaked Neil's rules quite often. A lot of the time I have felt that the changes I made resulted in unnecessary complication or lost the essence of why I like the rules.
Below are the ones I have settled on (for now) some have been gleaned from Trebians Wargaming For Grownups blog, well worth a read for ideas.

Generals/Command

A command base may join a unit at the beginning of a turn if it is not engaged in hand-to hand combat.

A unit with a command base attached may once per turn do one of the following options which must be declared prior to the combat

1. Re-roll its combat dice that miss (Poor commanders must re-roll all the dice)

2. Re-roll failed combat saves (Poor commanders must re-roll all the dice)

3. Re-roll a failed morale test (Not available to poor commanders)

Joining a unit puts the command base at risk

If a unit loses a base from shooting, it must make a saving roll of 2+

If a unit loses a base in hand-to-hand combat, it must make a saving roll of 3+

If an overall command base is lost or with a unit that is destroyed, all units in the army must take a morale test as if it had lost a base in hand-to-hand combat.

If a subordinate command base is lost or with a unit that is destroyed, all units under its command must take a morale test as if it had lost a base in hand-to-hand combat.

If an unattached commander is contacted it will fight with one D6 as heavy infantry or cavalry with a saving roll of 3+.

A commander attached to a unit that is destroyed is also removed either captured or killed.

Charging

The target unit must be within a 45degree arc of the charging unit's front and in its line of sight at the start of the move to be charged.

Contacting the flank or rear is only possible if the entire charging unit is past an imaginary line drawn along the target units flank or rear.

Contact can only be made by one attacking unit per facing: front, rear or either flank.

Hand-to-hand Combat

This can tend to drag on a little, below are some options.

If a unit is reduced to one base it must take a morale test every turn if in hand-to-hand combat. 

OR

If a unit loses more casualties than its opponent in hand-to-hand combat and has less bases at the start of the combat they will also become wavering and have a suitable marker placed next to them, should this happen in a consecutive turn of hand-to-hand combat they will be deemed destroyed. If it doesn't then the marker is removed.

Warband 

Add one to morale test score for losing a base in hand-to-hand combat until a base is lost.

Elephant Escorts

The escort consists of two bases. If an elephant unit with escorts charges, the escorts throw their javelins prior to the combat, they do not add to the close combat. They also give the elephant more resilience so it will rampage after six hits rather than four. The unit will also count as two units for determining losses and the army total.

Interpenetration.

Units may interpenetrate providing they can clear the unit they are attempting to pass through, the passed through unit may not move however.

Evading

Only available for unattached commanders, light cavalry and light infantry, the charging unit must be at least six inches away to do this, the evading unit will end its move with its back to the enemy.

Integral Archers

One base may fire bows at the end of movement each turn.

Darts/Pilum/Kontos

Troops so equipped may re-roll any dice that miss in the first hand-to-hand combat of the game.

Hun Light Cavalry

These had light spears as well as bows, they may re-roll any dice that miss in the first hand-to-hand combat of the game.

Byzantine Kataphraktoi and Hippo-Toxoti

These may fire their bows after moving.

 Thoughts on Republican Roman Maniples

The Hastati, having lost a base in hand-to-hand combat can take a morale test. If passed then they can retire behind supporting Principes who then face their opponents in a fresh hand-to-hand combat. To facilitate this action the Legion must always have at least one base depth open between the lines of each unit. If the Principes choose to later also retire then that may be either behind the Hastati or both may retire behind the Triarii.


No comments:

Post a Comment